Helping Scholars reach success is an incredibly rewarding experience. Whether you represent a campus, are part of a state or community organization, or are an individual looking to give back, there are several ways you can support Scholars on their journey.

CAMPUS PARTNERS

Colleges have academic support services that could include free workshops, tutoring and other out-of-class help. Each college has its own programs tailored to its students. You can find out more about your college’s support programs with this interactive map.

Your college may also have a ScholarCorps AmeriCorps member who serves as an on-campus resource to freshman and sophomore 21st Century Scholars. Check out the chart below for your ScholarCorps member’s contact information.

InstitutionScholarCorps MemberE-mail
Ball State UniversityBrandi Lambertsonbmlambertson@bsu.edu
Indiana State UniversityArmon Harrisaharris56@sycamores.indstate.edu
Indiana University - BloomingtonDuncan Mathiesmathiesd@indiana.edu
Indiana University - NorthwestMaryanne B Davismbd@iun.edu
Indiana University - SoutheastDakota Brooksdakbrook@ius.edu
Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW)Dominique Goodlowgoodl01@ipfw.edu
Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)Raad Khatibrkhatib@umail.iu.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - Central (Indianapolis)Kaitlin Bensonkbenson25@ivytech.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - Northeast (Fort Wayne)Theresa Robertstroberts95@ivytech.edu
Purdue University - NorthwestLaQuon Jameslwjames@pnw.edu
Purdue University - West LafayetteAnthony Cuevasaharwoo@purdue.edu
University of IndianapolisAnna Willwillac@uindy.edu
University of Southern IndianaJenna Beckjenna.beck@usi.edu
Vincennes UniversityJustin Robinsonmrobinson@vinu.edu

COMMUNITY PARTNERS

As a member of the community, you can make a difference in the lives of students, increase graduation rates and help develop Indiana’s future workforce. By becoming a mentor or signing your business or organization up as a member of our College Success Coalition, you directly influence students right here in Indiana—with results you can see.

With a mentor, kids are more likely to graduate from high school. Big Brothers Big Sisters of America reports students who regularly meet with mentors are 52% less likely to skip school. By becoming involved in students’ lives, you help them develop positive attitudes toward school, resulting in a rise in the college-educated workforce. In fact, the Starfish Initiative program in Indianapolis saw 80% of their first class of graduates enroll in college.

If your organization is interested in developing a mentoring program, or enhancing an existing one, check out our free College and Career Success Mentoring Toolkit.

Your area may also have an AmeriCorps VISTA member who serves middle- and high-school 21st Century Scholars. Check out the chart below for your AmeriCorps VISTA’s contact information.

Host SiteAmeriCorps VISTAE-mail
Indiana Commission for Higher Education (Indianapolis)Aaricka Washingtonawashington@che.in.gov
Ivy Tech Community College - Central Indiana (Indianapolis)Becca Romainerromaine2@ivytech.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - Northeast (Fort Wayne)James CowleyJcowley3@ivytech.edu
Project Leadership (Muncie)Willo Cainwcain@projectleadership.org

BECOME A PARTNER

Interested in partnering with the Commission for Higher Education’s Scholar Program? Just contact your region’s outreach coordinator to get started.