Helping Scholars reach success is an incredibly rewarding experience. Whether you represent a campus, are part of a state or community organization, or are an individual looking to give back, there are several ways you can support Scholars on their journey.

CAMPUS PARTNERS

Colleges have academic support services that could include free workshops, tutoring and other out-of-class help. Each college has its own programs tailored to its students. You can find out more about your college’s support programs with this guide.

Your college may also have a ScholarCorps member who serves as an on-campus resource. ScholarCorps is a State of Indiana AmeriCorps program. ScholarCorps members serve on campuses around the state to assist 21st Century Scholars in success and completion efforts. They provide one-on-one support to Scholars dealing with academic, financial and social questions or issues. 21st Century Scholars can reach out to their ScholarCorps member with questions or issues that may affect their scholarship.

InstitutionScholarCorps MemberE-mail
Anderson UniversityDominic Martin21stcentury@anderson.edu
Ball State UniversityBrandi Lambertsonbmlambertson@bsu.edu
Butler UniversityFrank Bonnerfbonner@butler.edu
Indiana State UniversityDanielle Rodgersdrodgers8@sycamores.indstate.edu
Indiana University - BloomingtonBrittany Kurtbkurt@indiana.edu
Indiana University - EastJessika Griffinjeogriff@iue.edu
Indiana University - NorthwestCharlie Colechacole@umail.iu.edu
Indiana University - SoutheastMontana Brooksmonbrook@ius.edu
Indiana University - Purdue University Columbus (IUPUC)Amber Lansberryalansber@iu.edu
Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)Danita Dollydsdolly@iupui.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - CentralKaitlin Bensonkbenson25@ivytech.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - NortheastKara Kernkkern19@ivytech.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - Terre HauteIan Salterisalter@ivytech.edu
Marian UniversityDieria Mooredmoore370@marian.edu
Purdue University - Fort WayneAdrian Phillipsphilal03@pfw.edu
Purdue University - NorthwestTaylor Codytcody@purdue.edu
Purdue University - West LafayetteHope Fortnerhfortner@purdue.edu
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods CollegeA L Steelea.l.steel@smwc.edu
University of EvansvilleLogan Johnsonlj70@evansville.edu
University of IndianapolisErin Jacksonjacksoneo@uindy.edu
University of Southern IndianaAlexandria Bartleyambartley1@eagles.usi.edu
Vincennes UniversityJustin Robinsonmrobinson@vinu.edu

COMMUNITY PARTNERS

As a member of the community, you can make a difference in the lives of students, increase graduation rates and help develop Indiana’s future workforce. By becoming a mentor or signing your business or organization up as a member of our College Success Coalition, you directly influence students right here in Indiana—with results you can see.

With a mentor, kids are more likely to graduate from high school. Big Brothers Big Sisters of America reports students who regularly meet with mentors are 52% less likely to skip school. By becoming involved in students’ lives, you help them develop positive attitudes toward school, resulting in a rise in the college-educated workforce. In fact, the Starfish Initiative program in Indianapolis saw 80% of their first class of graduates enroll in college.

If your organization is interested in developing a mentoring program, or enhancing an existing one, check out our free College and Career Success Mentoring Toolkit.

Your area may also have an AmeriCorps VISTA member who serves middle- and high-school 21st Century Scholars. Check out the chart below for your AmeriCorps VISTA’s contact information.

Host SiteAmeriCorps VISTAE-mail
Indiana Commission for Higher Education (Indianapolis)Aaricka Washingtonawashington@che.in.gov
Ivy Tech Community College - Central Indiana (Indianapolis)Becca Romainerromaine2@ivytech.edu
Ivy Tech Community College - Northeast (Fort Wayne)James CowleyJcowley3@ivytech.edu
Project Leadership (Marion)Prestin Mumawpmumaw@projectleadership.org
Project Leadership (Muncie)Willo Cainwcain@projectleadership.org

BECOME A PARTNER

Interested in partnering with the Commission for Higher Education’s 21st Century Scholars program? Just contact your region’s outreach coordinator to get started.